Monday, November 13, 2017

Mice of the Round Table: Voyage to Avalon Review and Giveaway!






Background


Julie Leung has done it again.

Charmed me with her stories of brave knights, both large and small.

A year ago, she introduced the Mice of the Round Table in her wonderful book A Tail of Camelot, and now she's back with book two, Voyage to Avalon.

Our favourite hero, Calib Christopher, is back.

The Description:


Young mouse Calib Christopher has nearly completed his training to become a squire to the Knights of the Round Table when news of a deadly plague comes to the castle. Soon all of Camelot is showing signs of the illness, animals and humans alike. Desperate to find a cure, Calib and his friend Cecily set off on a treacherous voyage to find the mythical, healing island of Avalon. 
But even as their journey takes them over land and sea, back at home, Calib's human friend Galahad discovers that the true enemy may have already found a way inside the castle walls…
Perfect for fans of New York Times bestselling series like Wings of Fire and Warriors, Mice of the Round Table brings to life a legendary world of animals and magic that kids will want to return to again and again.


My thoughts:

As with book one, Leung creates two full worlds in Camelot: the world of the Two-Leggers and the world of the mice.

Her use of language, her ability to create memorable characters, and thrilling fight scenes is amazing.

It is not always easy to write animal stories that don't slip into comical cuteness or that ring true, but Julie Leung achieved this in spades. You care about her characters, and you want to see them succeed.

Equally her antagonists are fully developed and a match for our heroes.

Children will love Calib's newest adventure, finding their own path to bravery, strength and wisdom. Add in another beautiful cover, Leung's latest book will be gobbled up by children and the adults in their lives!

Want to learn more about Julie Leung? Visit her website


Want to win copies of Julie's books?




We're giving away a hardcover copy of Julie's last book, and a softcover copy of her first book.

In order to be entered in the contest, leave a comment below!

The contest runs Monday November 13th until Thursday November 16th. Good Luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

  1. Both Mice of the Round Table sounds like adventurous tales! Thanks for sharing your reviews. Would love a copy to donate to our school library!

    ReplyDelete